Subscribe to Creekside feed
Updated: 42 min 6 sec ago

So this was a *free vote* then, was it?

Wed, 02/15/2017 - 23:54
From the Liberal Party Platform:
For members of the Liberal Caucus, all votes will be free votes with the exception of:• those that implement the Liberal electoral platform;• traditional confidence matters, like the budget; and • those that address our shared values and the protections guaranteed by the Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Unless you'd like to argue that *not* implementing anything *is* the Liberal electoral platform.
So which argument from Trudeau was so compelling that all 173 Liberal members in the HoC voted No
The first one where we could not have electoral reform because there was no consensus among Canadians? 
Or the second one where we could not have electoral reform because there was too much consensus for an electoral reform you didn't like because a party like the one which just held power for the last 10 years might win a couple of seats?Which argument really sold all 173 of you to vote NO and then send out letters explaining how really really disappointed you all were with the way things turned out?.

See, first-past-the-post is working again now

Mon, 02/13/2017 - 14:40
In June 2015 the Liberal Party released a position paper :“We are committed to ensuring that 2015 will be the last federal election conducted under the first-past-the-post voting system.”and Justin Trudeau took that campaign promise on the road.
At the time the Liberals were 3rd in the polls :NDP - 32.6%    CPC - 28.6%   LPC - 26.3%The Liberal majority now rests on 43 MPs whose margin of victory is less than 5%.
Before the election Fair Vote Canada asked all MPs to pledge that campaign promise. NDP did because it is part of party policy; CPC did not because it is not.The following list of Liberal MPs, some of whom campaigned aggressively on that issue, answered ‘Yes’ when asked before the election if they feel :"the number of MPs elected to Parliament from each party should be roughly proportional to the number of votes cast for that party’s candidates.":Cabinet ministers in bold: 

Candidate                            Riding                                         % Margin of victory BCJohn Aldag                        Cloverdale-Langley City, B.C.          10.7Terry Beech                       Burnaby North-Seymour, B.C.          6.5Ken Hardie                         Fleetwood-Port Kells, B.C.              17.6Joyce Murray                     Vancouver-Quadra, B.C.                  32.9Carla Qualtrough              Delta, B.C.                                       16.3Harjit Sajjan                      Vancouver-South, B.C.                    14.9Jonathan Wilkinson            North Vancouver, B.C.                     29.8 Jody Wilson-Raybould     Vancouver-Granville, B.C.               17.0
OntarioOmar Alghabra                    Mississauga, Ont.                           21.1Leon Alleslev                       Aurora-Richmond Hill, Ont.              2.1Shaun Chen                         Scarborough North, Ont.                20.8Neil Ellis                               Bay of Quinte, Ont.                         16.4Nathaniel Erskine Smith      Beaches-East York, Ont.                 18.6Karina Gould                      Burlington, Ont.                                3.5Patty Hajdu                         Thunder Bay-Sup North, Ont.         21.8Andrew Leslie                      Orléans, Ont.                                   28.8Lloyd Longfield                    Guelph, Ont.                                    22.8Karen McCrimmon              Kanata-Carleton, Ont.                     12.1David McGuinty                   Ottawa South, Ont.                         48.5John McKay                         Scarborough-Guildwood, Ont.       33.5Catherine McKenna           Ottawa-Centre, Ont.                         4.2Maryam Monsef                 Peterborough-Kawartha, Ont.          8.7Jennifer O’Connell               Pickering-Uxbridge, Ont.                12.1Rob Oliphant                        Don Valley West, Ont.                     16.2John Oliver                           Oakville, Ont.                                    6.9Anthony Rota                       Nippissing-Timiskaming, Ont.         22.6Kim Rudd                             Peterborough South, Ont.                 2.9Raj Saini                               Kitchener Centre, Ont.                    18.4Sonia Sidhu                         Brampton South, Ont.                     17.1Marwan Tabbara                  Kitchener South-Hespeler, Ont.        5.6Anita Vandenbeld                Ottawa West-Nepean, Ont.             25.9Arif Virani                             Parkdale-High Park, Ont.                  1.8
QuebecDavid Lametti                      LaSalle-Émard-Verdun, Que.          14.9Alexandra Mendès              Brossard-Saint-Lambert, Que.        25.7Greg Fergus                        Hull-Aylmer, Que.                            19.9
PEIWayne Easter                      Malpeque, P.E.I.                               44.5Lawrence MacAulay          Cardigan, P.E.I.                                48.8Bobby Morrissey                 Egmont, P.E.I.                                  20.3
Amarjeet Sohi                     Edmonton Mill Woods, Alta.             0.1Robert-Falcon Ouellette      Winnipeg Centre, Man.                    26.5Jim Carr                              Winnipeg South Centre, Man.         31.5Matt DeCourcey                  Fredericton, N.B.                              20.9Darrell Samson                    Sackville-Chezzetcook, N.S.           13.6
Ironically, it is first-past-the-post that allows these MPs to now ignore that campaign promise.h/t Anita Nickerson and Kelly Carmichael at FairVote for poster and stats respectively.Hill Times : Liberal MPs concerned about PMO’s handling of electoral reform and cash-for-access issues, say Grit sources.